Music Not For Thinking

22 Oct

Mondoo’s right, it has been a busy week!  And I ran out of things to say that weren’t concerning how busy I was and didn’t want to be That Girl.  My undergrad was full of Those Girls competing for who was the busiest and who hadn’t bathed or slept in the longest because she was writing her thesis on the history of fiddle theory in eastern Europe or collecting psych data on the correlation between peoples’ favorite snack and their tendency toward violent behavior.  If you ask me, that is a dirty, boring contest wherein everyone is a loser.

I did start some blog posts but I never got past the first few sentences.  Maybe someday I’ll post about failed blog post attempts.  But for now, here is one about music.  Today’s music, particularly.  I listen to a lot of top 40s music in my car because I forget to bring new cds with me before I leave for work.  I also like to know what the kids are listening to these days, and a lot of it is pretty catchy.  I especially like the lyrics, and I have made a list of a few lyrics that confuse/please me.

Taylor Swift, Love Story

Now, I love this song.  It’s all sweet and Romeo & Juliet-y classic forbidden young love.  I do think it’s a little naïve of her to be so excited when Romeo shows up at the end, after disappearing and standing her up for so long and then proposes to her, and she thinks it’s the happy ending to her love story.  Um, how about, “Where have you been all this time?”  “Why haven’t you called?”  I definitely don’t trust this guy enough to marry him, that’s for sure.  But the line that really confuses me is  “’Cause you were Romeo, I was a scarlet letter/And my daddy said stay away from Juliet.”  Has Taylor Swift read The Scarlet Letter?  Does she know that it’s about being publicly shamed for adultery?  I don’t really understand how she’s a scarlet letter in this song, unless there’s a whole back story in the real song and I’m just hearing the edited for radio version.

Britney Spears, Circus

This is a song that I strongly dislike, yet am unable to stop listening to.  It’s so stupid, in so many ways.  But also quite catchy.  There are a couple parts that make me laugh.  One is, “I’m like a performer, the dance floor is my stage.”  But Britney, I thought you WERE a performer, and the STAGE was your stage.  What does this even mean?  The other line I like is “Everybody let go, we can make a dance floor just like a circus.”  What circus is she going to?  Either someone has been taking her out to the club and telling her it is a circus, or someone has been taking me to the circus and telling me it’s a club.

Miley Cyrus, Party in the USA

I’m not as fond of this song as Mondoo, but I don’t mind it.  I was singing along with it the other day and I got to the part “Nodding my head like yeah,” and I started nodding my head like yeah.  But the “like yeah” part is a little unnecessary, right?  Are you ever nodding your head like something other than yeah?

Jay Sean, Down

I like this song a lot too.  My favorite part is when Lil Wayne starts rapping and he says “And honestly, I’m down like the economy.”  Wait a minute!  How does Lil Wayne know about the economy??  I thought we were talking about “Young Wayne on them hoes/A.K.A. Mr. Make It Rain On Them Hoes” here.  Perhaps Lil Wayne, while not suffering from economic woes, does keep himself informed of them. It’s probably too much to ask then for him to keep himself informed of the economy’s posture AND drug and gun laws, I mean, the guy has to make music at some point.  But what’s the point of dating a cop (even if “her uniform pants are so tight”) if she can’t keep you from getting arrested?

One Response to “Music Not For Thinking”

  1. sumshel October 23, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    i guess you could be nodding your head ‘like no’
    ha.
    shakira has my favorite word use – ‘lycanthropy’

    A domesticated girl that’s all you ask of me
    Darling it is no joke, this is lycanthropy
    The moon’s awake now with eyes wide open
    My body is craving, so feed the hungry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

