TV Hospitals Are Better Than Real Ones

17 Sep

I used to love Grey’s Anatomy!  My girlfriends and I used to hang out and watch it every Sunday (and then Sunday became Thursday so we just changed the name of the day) and then spend the next day at our meaningless office assistant jobs emailing each other about what happened the night before.  It usually started out like “I can’t believe George threw up in that body!” then onto “Boy, Patrick Dempsy has really filled out since Can’t Buy Me Love” and then the conversation would predictably dissolve into how dislikable every character is.  I started to include my mom on our little email chats because she watched it too and I thought she got a kick out of reading what the girls had to say, but then one day without noticing her name on the list one of my friends responded to a thread saying how handsome McHandsome was and detailed the explicit things she wanted to do to him.  That kind of killed the email tradition, and then, wouldn’t you know, pretty soon having anything else to do on Sunday nights killed the whole tradition.  I haven’t watched it in a few years but now that Lifetime is showing reruns I flip through sometimes to make sure doctors are still making out in closets, patients are still blowing up/swallowing cats/sneezing ribs and things are how they should be.  If I were Addison Shepherd, I would have left to start my own baby-saving practice too!  What a wreck, that Seattle Grace.  Give me the George Clooney ER days.  Here’s a quick poll:  If you were infirm of body, who would you prefer treat you?  a) Meredith Grey, b) House, c) Doogie Howser, d) Cliff Huxtable, or e) Dr. Claw

Answer: Doogie Howser, and hopefully he’ll bring his Italian friend.

4 Responses to “TV Hospitals Are Better Than Real Ones”

  1. C.S. September 18, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    On 9/22/06, C.S. wrote:
    >
    okay, agreed, who actually says “he’s bad for you. but i’m good.” PUHLEEZ.
    BUT on the other hand… oh i don’t know, i want a Dr. McDreamy in my life… but he IS married. and COME ON GUYS, his wife IS WAY cooler than meredith. meredith is a self-centered snot-nosed “dark and twisty” waif. and his wife saves BABIES. i don’t care that she had an affair– she was soooo sorry about it, and come on, what’s his best friend’s name? i’d totally ****** him, too. EVEN IF i were married to dr. mcdreamy.
    >
    On 9/22/06, C.S. wrote:
    >
    oops. sorry gaby’s mom. didn’t realize i had such a vulgar mouth.

  2. 141characters September 18, 2009 at 6:50 am #

    I can’t believe you had the email! Sorry I edited it, it… I was going to ask if you keep it up on your desktop to remind yourself to double check the recipients before sending email, but then I remembered the events of 3 weeks ago involving a missing sandwich and your entire school’s listserv…

  3. C.S. September 18, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    hahaha. yeah, apparently some people just never learn….
    I think google should come out with a lab that abolishes the reply-all button. Definitely. I want to have to copy and paste EVERY.SINGLE. recipient in EVERY.SINGLE. email. hahaha
    p.s. doogie or Huxtable

  4. Heater September 19, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I miss the George Clooney ER days…hands down my favorite hospital show.

Leave a Reply

