Love/Hate: Football

18 Sep

LoveHate

Welcome to the very first Love/Hate post—periodic commentaries on things that I love and hate equally.  These entries are filled with links leading to pictures or videos.  Click on links, it will make it more entertaining.  This week’s edition:  Football.

Love:

1)      Charlie Batch.  Oh man, he’s so adorable in so many ways: 1) Look at that smile!  2) He’s the most reliable back-up in the league. 3) He’s so adorably nervous when he gets a chance to go in the game, just watch his face next time; he looks like he’s ready to puke.  4) He does so much for the City of Pittsburgh; he’s an example to so many.  Take note, Big Ben, THIS is what you should be doing in your spare time, not ahem, ahem.

2)      Football Food.  Hot dogs, burgers, nachos, beer, kielbasa, wings, Primanti’s, chili, chips, dips, and more.  We’re all lucky that football season ends in February—plenty of time to lose the football food lbs.

3)      ESPN HottiesJesse Palmer, Kirk Herbstreit, Mark Schlereth, just take a look at their pics and I’m sure you’ll agree.  Many have debated me on Mark Schlereth, but what can I say?  I have a thing for big, hairy, handsome guys who used to be chubby.  I’ll play detective with Roc Hoover any day.

4)      Sexual-sounding football terms.  “Deep penetration in the backfield,” “Tight end,” and, “Spread them wide and pound it up the middle.”How can you not love those?!  Hilarious!  All the 12-year-old boys and I think so.

5)      Being a Steelers Fan.  What’s not to love about being a Pittsburgh Steelers fan?  We win Superbowls, bitches, it’s what we do.  And we have Mike Tomlin.  And he is so cool.

Hate:

1)      Haters.  No, I’m not talking about the people who jovially tease you about your team’s allegiance.  I’m talking about those people who give you unwarranted sass about your home team.  Example:

Mondoo:  Hey, how are you?

Little Man Hate:  The Steelers are going to lose tonight!

Mondoo:  Um, ok, how are you?

Little Man Hate:  They f*@king suck!

What a hater.  I’ve unfriended people on Facebook for being haters and I won’t hesitate to do it to you.  You can cheer for your team and I can cheer for mine, ok?

2)      Douchebag QuarterbacksMatt Leinart, Philip Rivers, Brett Favre, and perhaps the biggest offender, Tom Brady.  Between their modeling, leaving your baby momma mid-pregnancy, and Wrangler Jeans ads, I don’t know what to hate most about them.  Oh wait, I do.  Acting like you’re too good for interviews.  Way to blow off Suzy Kolber on Monday night, Tom Brady.  Did you not want to talk to her because she’s not young and blonde like all other female sports reporters that they actually let on TV?  Shame on you, pig.

3)      ESPN Shouters, I mean Anchors.  Apparently when you’re reporting on sports, you need to shout, otherwise sports fans won’t be able to understand it.  That’s what I gather from watching ESPN.  I swear if Skip Bayless and Michael Wilbon don’t chill soon, they are headed straight for a heart attack or brain aneurysm.  CALM DOWN, fellas.

4)      NFL Cheerleaders.  What purpose do you serve?  Really.  I can see arguing the merit of high school cheerleaders.  They practice, perform stunts, compete in cheer competitions but what do you do exactly?  I’ve seen bits of that Dallas Cowgirl TV show and pretty much the only requirement for their selection is whether or not they look good in their booty shorts.  Get a real job.

5) Sucky Teams and their Clueless Fans.  Yeah, Browns and Bengals, I’m talking about you.  Your teams have sucked for years and guess what?  This isn’t going to be the year that they are good.  Sorry to break it to you.  I totally understand where you’re coming from though.  The Pittsburgh Pirates have sucked for YEARS.  Pittsburghers would love for them to be good but here’s the difference between us and you, we have accepted that they are terrible and we keep our hopes and dreams for a good season to ourselves, otherwise, it just gets annoying (hint, hint, shut up).  Who dey, who dey, who dey think gonna beat dem Bengals?  Everyone, except for the Browns.

9 Responses to “Love/Hate: Football”

  1. Jeannette September 18, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE YOU. This is THE BEST POST – I agree with 100% of this post. I love Charlie Batch and I’m ALWAYS thinking “that’s what she said” during football. Ben is gross, I’m glad we win super bowls,but he’s gross. Pittsburgh is THE CITY OF CHAMPIONS
    Pirmanti’s was on Man v. Food btw
    I hate HATE how anchors SHOUT
    AND I’ve ALWAYS said that about NFL cheerleaders – YOU CANNOT HEAR THEM. They just stand there half naked and flash their shiny pom poms. Thats why the Steelers ROCK – NO FREAKING CHEERLEADERS (And I liked us better without a “mascot:”) K I agree with like all of this post so I’m done writing.
    LOVE YOU
    PS: Sorry I forgot to call today – I just realized it.

  2. Jeannette September 18, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    OH YEAH – and I always forget about the Pirates cause they stink it up. The only reason anyone goes is to hang out at the park and watch other teams.
    I love your WHO DEY reference – that was ridiculous…until we mocked it

  3. 141characters September 19, 2009 at 8:17 am #

    Haha, great post! Football is my social smoking. I’m not a regular but when everyone else is really excited about it I will be too. I would like to add an emphatic “love” to the list though: Tailgating. What’s there not to love about drinking in parking lots and eating pepperoni rolls with hundreds of rowdy fans? –g

  4. Kristina September 19, 2009 at 8:20 am #

    Great post, friend! I know nothing about football, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Can’t wait for more love/hates!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mondoo’s Mailbag « 141characters - December 29, 2009

    […] Almost Hungry, West Virginia (1,762 views), Festival Foods- Not Fair, FABULOUS! (934 views), Love/Hate: Football (368 views), and Friendly Five (323 […]

  2. Love/Hate: Facebook « 141characters - January 15, 2010

    […] the Hide function and now when a Facebook friend of mine gets too annoying, BAM!  Hidden!  Sometimes I’m in a bad mood and get so annoyed that they get unfriended.  This has only happened a couple of times but, trust me, it was […]

  3. Coach Mondoo’s NFL Analysis « 141characters - January 25, 2010

    […] football fan that I am (Oh you think I’m kidding?  Did you forget the following posts:  Love/Hate: Football, Just call me, Coach Mondoo, Creeptastic, and Coach Mondoo’s Bowl Preview), I thought that I […]

  4. Love/Hate: The Super Bowl « 141characters - February 5, 2010

    […] The Game. I love football, remember?  So, of course, I love the actual game in addition to the commercials.  Especially because […]

  5. Love/Hate: March Madness « 141characters - March 19, 2010

    […] Sports Announcers.  I revealed on Love/Hate:  Football just how much I love sexual-sounding football terms.  Well, yesterday during the Villanova vs. […]

Leave a Reply

