I’m so controversial

21 Sep

I’ve learned through the years that as I have opinions and share them with other people, that sometimes, they don’t share my opinions.  Like at all.  In fact, sometimes I find that I’m completely in the minority and people get so defensive that I wish that I would’ve just kept my mouth shut.  Well, guess what?  This is my blog and I can write about whatever I want, regardless of disagreement or ridicule.  Plus, if you disagree, you can just comment and I don’t have to uncomfortably put up with you in person while we argue for ten minutes.

The main source of these awkward opinionated encounters has revolved around my open disgust for famous people that others seemingly cherish.

Michael Phelps

No!  Not Michael Phelps, he is an Olympic Champion!  Well, he’s also a drunk driver and smokes marijuana.  The perfect example for our youth.  Nothing astounds me more than people’s love for this dopey looking idiot.  This dude loves being famous and doesn’t care to be an example to anyone.  He’s just out there drinking and driving and toking up without regard to his public image or endorsement deals.  But just because he’s white, young, and won 50 medals at the most recent summer games, we’re just supposed to act ignorant to his douchebag ways?  Well, not me, I’m too smart for that.  Michael Phelps, you suck, and you’re a Baltimore Ravens fan, double whammy.

Lance Armstrong

But he beat cancer!  Yes, but he also left his wife and kids for Sheryl Crow shortly after beating cancer.  And since he left his wife AND Sheryl Crow, he’s had a string of much younger women at his side like Kate Hudson and even an Olsen twin (does it matter which one?).  He’s what we call a Playboy.

And nothing is more annoying than athletes who “retire” only to return to their sport a short time later, no doubt because the media stopped talking about them and they couldn’t handle being out of the spotlight (oh I’m taking a dig at you too, Brett Favre).

Taylor Swift

Gasp!  How dare I pick on Taylor Swift?  That horrible Kanye West (or Cayenne West as my grandma calls him) ruined her moment on the VMAs and now I’m kicking this poor teenager while she’s down.  Well, guess what?  I’m not going to let Kanye and his ego-whoring ways prevent me from sharing my opinions about Taylor Swift.

First of all, her music is over-the-top poppy and saccharine sweet, while her singing voice is obnoxious and whiny.  And, my sister-in-law pointed out that she looks like a goblin when she isn’t wearing make-up, well I’ll go even farther and suggest that she looks like some sort of elfish creature even with make-up on.  And finally, the lyrics to her latest song are completely contradictory!  You, Miss Swift, are not the girl that sits in the bleachers wearing your t-shirt.  You are, though, the epitome of a cheer captain.  Besides, Avril Lavigne has already been all over the angle of identifying with the young, non-cheerleader type and at least she looked the part.

There I said it.

Are there any beloved celebs out there who you can’t stand?  Probably, but don’t dare talk about it unless you want a knockdown, drag out fight.  Just write about it in a blog.  This is my advice to you.

8 Responses to “I’m so controversial”

  1. Libby September 21, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    Oh I have one to add…

    Lady GaGa. I’m sorry, GaGa, but you are bat-shit crazy. Stop wearing costumes, head gear and admit that you probably have a penis. Other than that, I still like your music.
    I will file you under musicians who I can’t stand because of their personal life choices but love to rock out to their jams. I.e. Michael Jackson and Kanye West.

  2. Kristina September 21, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    me to me to….I have one!

    I CAN NOT stand Tyra Banks!! She is a self- adsorbed, Oprah-wanna-be. I refuse to watch anything on TV that is associated with her.
    However, I thoroughly enjoy watching her on The Soup!

  3. Beefer September 21, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    I care not for you, Everyone Else’s Baby. You are cranky, you smell, you do not interact meaningfully with others. It is like being forced to be excited about holding Larry King.

  4. Jeannette September 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    OMG I thought I was the only person with vagina that doesn’t like Taylor Swift – her stupid Love Story song is also a contradiction.
    ROMEO AND JULIET DIE!! HELLO
    AND
    Who wants to be a Scarlet Letter? That means you’re preggers with someone’s baby who is not your husbands! OH SNAP – get your literature right! (Maybe if she was in school instead of writing about her overwhelming knowledge of love while still under 21 she would know that)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creeptastic « 141characters - October 27, 2009

    […] Comment In case you haven’t noticed, I use this blog to help people.  I warn readers about douchey celebrities, dangerous fair foods, and falling prey to working out.   Today’s post is no different.  I […]

  2. I’m so controversial- Part 2 « 141characters - November 10, 2009

    […] original post, I’m so controversial, focused on beloved celebrities that I can’t stand.  Well, as I’ve discovered […]

  3. Love/Hate: Country Music « 141characters - November 13, 2009

    […] Taylor Swift. I’ve mentioned on this blog before how much I dislike Taylor Swift.  To recap, her music is annoying and she looks like an elfish creature.  Well I couldn’t […]

  4. Love/Hate: Being a Housewife « 141characters - January 29, 2010

    […] out there who maybe don’t appreciate love and family like I do.  I reserve my judgment for celebrities and as-seen-on-TV […]

Leave a Reply

