Oh bother—Part 1

22 Sep

A lot of things bother me.  You’ve probably already noticed this from my posts (I started to link to my posts that had a theme of being bothered but it was basically all of them so instead, just see any post denoted by the category: mondoo).  Honestly, even I realize that the fact that the following things bother me is severely misguided.  Sometimes when I get so bothered by these neurosis, I just have to laugh.

Multipurpose Professional Playing Surfaces:  It happens every year during this time, when baseball and football seasons run concurrently, you have to look at this monstrosity while watching a game.  It looks just plain awful.  The last thing that I want to be reminded of while watching an exciting football game is a boring game of baseball.  Build two separate fields, Pittsburgh did it.

Condensation:  Ugh!  I hate, hate, hate when I’m drinking an ice cold beverage and condensation forms on the outside of my cup, I pick up the cup to take a sip and BAM!  Water is now ALL OVER me.  My shirt is wet, my pants are wet and condensation inevitably means that my ice is melting, watering down my iced tea, which I also hate.  While we’re talking about water, I am also bothered by the word moist… and panties (although I find that many people are bothered those words so this one may be justified).

Shaving my husband’s neck: Once upon a time, when my husband and I were dating, I drove over to his parents’ house to pick him up for a date and his mother was shaving his neck with an electric razor.  She said “Pay attention, missy, you’ll be doing this for him someday.”  I was so grossed out, I considered not marrying him when he proposed (not really).  Sure enough, we get married and here I am, shaving the mini-mullet below his hairline every week and a half.  He walks into the room with a hand towel and his trimmer and I whine and writhe in my chair, it’s so bothersome but he can’t physically shave his own neck, so I reluctantly comply.

Being helped: All the women, who independent, THROW YOUR HANDS UP AT ME!  I don’t ask people for help and it really bothers me when people insist on helping .  I’m kind of a loner by nature so I’m used to doing things on my own (you should see how many heavy grocery bags I can carry at one time!)  I realize that people are just trying to be nice and sometimes it does make things easier, but seriously, I can do it on my own, thanks!

4 Responses to “Oh bother—Part 1”

  1. Matt May September 22, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    You aren’t the only one that hates the word “panties.” One of my friends hates the word so much that she covers her ears like a gun went off when someone says it. The next time I see her, I’m going to try and throw “moist” into the conversation to see how she reacts to it. There is probably no way to put in “moist” and “panties” into a single sentence without sounding like a complete pervert.

    As for shaving your husband’s neck, my wife does that for me too. In fact, she cuts my hair, and she’s damn good at it, too. Part of that is shaving the back of my neck. I tried doing it myself before (shaving the back of my neck, not cutting my own hair), and it’s not easy. I don’t know if it bothers my wife as much as it bothers you to shave the back of my neck. Every week and a half is kind of nuts though. Two suggestions to gain more time between shaving his neck: 1) Use a straight razor instead of an electric razor or 2) he could always have the back of neck waxed . . . but good luck convincing him to do that (and don’t tell him I suggested that).

  2. Jeannette September 24, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    I thought about the same thing when watching the Chargers/Raiders game about the multisport fields – SO annoying

  3. Jenn October 20, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    What bothers me is when people refer to baseball as boring.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love/Hate: Married Life « 141characters - October 2, 2009

    […] Yes, if you are a loyal reader to this blog, you’d already read about this bi-weekly activity (”Oh Bother- Part 1″) that as a wife I’m obligated to perform.  Ugh, I know that he can’t physically shave […]

Leave a Reply

