Secrets, secrets are no fun…

24 Sep

I’ve seen this scenario play out on the soaps.  Two people meet, get married, and think that they are going to live happily ever after.   But then shortly after the wedding takes place, sordid secrets and lies are revealed:  baby switches, former lovers who now have become current on-the-side lovers, illegitimate children, possession by the devil, kidnappings, even the revelation of a mystery past following an amnesia recovery.  Sadly, most couples do not survive the disclosure of such information, unless of course, you are a super couple (i.e. John and Marlena, Luke and Laura, Bo and Hope).

Now, I love me some soaps, so I know all the signs that one exhibits when he’s been carrying the burden of a secret.  Never in a million years did I think that I would fall victim to an earth-shattering secret revelation by my husband.  After all, we had already been together for six years.  Boy was I wrong.  I was pretty certain that I knew everything there was to know about him, until…

One Monday evening, I returned from a late night meeting to discover my husband joyfully perched on the couch with a bag of tortilla chips and a bowl of salsa.  The contented smile on his face had nothing to do with his snacks but had everything to do with the professional wrestling glowing from the television (actually, I’m not positive about that, he does really love chips and salsa).

“Um, what are you watching?!” I questioned.

He hesitated for a bit and then reluctantly replied as if he were a child caught with his hand in the cookie jar, “Monday Night Raw.”

“Professional wrestling?!  I had no idea…” my voice trailing off.

“I’m sorry, this is something that I should’ve told you sooner.  I just couldn’t find the words.  I have always loved professional wrestling, since I was a little boy,” a little boy with Wrestling Buddies and action figures complete with their own little, plastic wrestling ring.

After a long discussion, some tears, and a little time, I grew to accept my husband’s second love.  Well, more of an obsession really.  He does own some wrestling literature (Wrestlecrap and The Death of the WCW), frequents Wrestlezone.com, and of course, tunes into WWE’s Monday Night Raw each and every week.

Although I’ve accepted his obsession, I constantly do my best to understand it.  I mean, the fact that a highly-educated, socially adept (and I must say, good-looking) lawyer could have such an interest in professional wrestling does seem pretty bizarre.  But in trying to understand his second love, I’ve watched some episodes of Raw and it’s eerily reminiscent of a soap opera with supernatural storylineslove triangles,  deceit, and faces turning heel and vice versa.

Thankfully, just like in soap operas and wrestling, our love has indeed survived this secret revelation and that can only mean one thing… super couple status, here we come!  That or a super successful tag team partnership, only time will tell.

3 Responses to “Secrets, secrets are no fun…”

  1. Mrs Zack Morris September 28, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    You’ve done your best to accept it? Puh-lease…you encourage it. Isn’t dressing up this Halloween as Macho Man and Miss Elizabeth enough proof? HeeHee

    • 141characters September 28, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

      If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. 🙂 -m

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love/Hate: Professional Wrestling « 141characters - March 12, 2010

    […] it.  How was I exposed to professional wrestling in the first place?  Remind yourself by reading this.  Why do I continue to watch it?  Well, folks, I love spending time with my husband, even if it […]

Leave a Reply

