Guilty Pleasures

30 Sep

So, I was driving in my car yesterday, listening to the radio, and totally rocking out.  Dancing, bobbing my head…in traffic.  People could totally see me, I’m sure some were staring, but I didn’t care.  The radio was playing my jam and I was elated.  But it got me thinking about guilty pleasures.  I don’t understand why people are so embarrassed by them.  I think that we just need to own our guilty pleasures, be confident in the things that we love, and I’m going to do my part by sharing a few of mine with you.  Feel free to share yours as well.

Song

Yeah, so that song that I was rocking out to in the car… “Party in the USA” by Miley Cyrus.  Yes, I know, it’s Miley Cyrus, her voice is obnoxious, she sounds like a dude, and she’s young and all around annoying but that song is so catchy!  And it makes me happy.  It’s a good message, too.  If ever you’re feeling nervous or out of place, listen to your favorite song, put your hands in the ayer, a-ayer, and the butterflies will fly away.  Take a listen…

Reality Show

[picapp src=”1/5/2/d/Tori_Spelling_and_c309.jpg?adImageId=6059805&imageId=6343983″ width=”234″ height=”334″ /]

Getting DirecTV this summer was amazing for so many reasons but one of the best reasons is that it introduced me to the wonderful reality show, guilty pleasure #2, Tori and Dean:  Home Sweet Hollywood. I’m sure part of me just started watching it because of Tori Spelling and my love for Beverly Hills 90210, but I kept watching nothing is more entertaining than the lives of D-list actors and their children’s guncles.  Will Tori and Dean have another baby?  Are the guncles adopting a child?  Will Tori and Candy ever make up?  We’ll have to wait for Season 5!  Wait, Season 5?!  I can’t believe that show has been on for four seasons already!  Apparently I’m not the only one who finds it a guilty pleasure.

Sitcom

Have you ever watched Reba?  I dare you to watch it and not laugh.  It’s adorable.  Reba is so sassy, Van is crazy, and that BJ, she is a hoot.  It’s the perfect combination for a hilarious half hour.  Now, you may be asking yourself, how does a person who appreciates the subtle humor of shows like The Office and Arrested Development appreciate the comedic stylings of Reba?  An analogy:  I love beef tenderloin and lobster (who doesn’t?) but every once in a while, I crave a huge burger (again, who doesn’t?).  Why can’t the same be said for television comedies?  A preview below, but the next time you come across an episode of Reba on Lifetime, do yourself a favor and watch it.

Food

pretzel hot dog

One time long ago, I found myself in a mall around dinnertime and my stomach was growling.  I just needed something quick to tide me over until my shopping excursion concluded.  I stopped at Auntie Anne’s and discovered guilty pleasure #4, the Pretzel Dog.  I used to HATE hot dogs and then one magical day, my taste buds changed and now I love them.  You know how to make a hot dog even better?  Wrap a sweet, Auntie Anne’s pretzel around it.  YUM!

Again, feel free to share your guilty pleasures.  I won’t judge you.  From experience, it’s quite liberating, and only slightly embarrassing.

3 Responses to “Guilty Pleasures”

  1. Chad September 30, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    1) glad you’re back on track with GOOD blogs 😉
    2)LOVE “party in the usa” I even made up a dance to it, I’ll show you someday! Nicole gets a little sick of me when I get the song stuck in her head!
    3)LOVE “Reba” it is SO good! good wholesome family comedy!

  2. Beefer October 1, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    Song- Shakira, “She-Wolf” Hell, anything by Shakira
    Television Show- anything aimed at 8-year-olds. Think “Arthur,” “Suite Life of Zack & Cody,” or “Lazytown”
    Food- anything from Long John Silver’s
    Movie- “Far and Away” Wait, why?

  3. Jeannette October 13, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    Song – I’m OBSESSED with Party in the USA right now and like every Glee song
    TV Show – Basically EVERYTHING on Bravo except stuff with houses and food because I can’t judge food on TV when I can’t taste it – I LOVE the ridiculous Drama and crave it every week along with Real Chance at Love, My Antonio, and Tool Academy on VH1 – GLORIOUS
    Food – Cheese Fries – effing DELISH – sooo bad fo you
    Movie – HSM 1 & 3- judge away

Leave a Reply

