Just Another Wednesday Night

1 Oct

Last night I went out with a friend for a couple of harmless drinks and dinner.  We ended up staying at the bar longer than we intended, having met up with other friends, and by the time we left for dinner our only option for food was another bar.  This was kind of my plan all along, because this other bar has a really impressive hamburger, the likes of which I was unable to finish the last time I was there—a day I’ve been ruing for a while now.  At the second bar, we sat down for dinner, and the waitress came up to our table and asked what kind of shot we were having.  It being 10:30 on a Wednesday night and us being responsible workingwomen, we declined politely.  She insisted though, and as it was, a rather large man sitting at a table adjacent to us with another woman had bought the three of us (me, friend, waitress) drinks.  In that case, I accepted because I thought it would be rude not to.  I’ve never been inclined to send someone a drink in a bar, but I’ve always thought it’s a classy move.  We blushingly drank our complimentary drinks after the waitress made one of the more vulgar toasts I’ve heard.  Then I introduced us to the couple at the table, thanked the man for the drink (who’s name was something like Cornelius, no joke, and he was drinking a glass of wine at this seedy bar), and went back to the barbecue cheese fries, as one does.  Friend and I laughed about it over dinner, but replaying this scenario in my head as I write this, I realize it could not have been more clear what was going on had Cornelius been wearing a purple suit and carrying a cane.  Naturally, I’m slightly embarrassed about accepting a drink from this man and his, … , friend?, but I’m also curious as to his motivation.  If I were a pimp I wouldn’t waste my time and money buying drinks for nicely-dressed, relatively sober women on a Wednesday night.  I don’t know a lot about the business, but I would think the money would be in, well, men for starters, and then definitely in more discreet and subtle approaches.  Again, I don’t know much about it so maybe he had a plan.  But his plan was surely thwarted when we indiscreetly inhaled that huge quantity of food and abruptly left to go home to bed.

2 Responses to “Just Another Wednesday Night”

  1. c.s. October 3, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

    hahaha. Well, if the pimp’s got money, why can’t he spread the love with some lovely ladies? See also: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFjrbmj0CUc

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sales Pitch to Sales People « 141characters - October 8, 2009

    […] to me and buy me coffee.  I never called the guy back (Weird, right? Given my tendency to accept free drinks from strange men), but he kept calling my work phone until one day he caught me in my office.  It’s a quiet […]

Leave a Reply

