Singled Out

7 Oct

Anytime I ever mention purchasing a CD single back in the day, I’m met with laughter.  Do you remember CD singles?  I’ve retrieved the proper definition of a CD single from Amazon.com:

CD Single:  CD singles are standard CDs that contain only a few songs. Typically, but  not always, CD singles include the album version of a song plus remixes of that same song. CD singles may also contain songs not included on the album. These songs are   often referred to as B-sides.”

I wanted to include that so that we’re all on the same page here.  Lord knows that I’m getting on in years and I don’t want to assume that this generation is aware of what we did for music before the IPod.

Anyways, I don’t understand what is so funny about it.  Kids these days essentially do the same thing with their IPods and mp3s—they like a particular song so they purchase it from ITunes or Amazon and usually don’t waste their time downloading the entire album.  Well, that’s what I did.  I’d hear a song on the radio or MTV or VH1, have my mom drive me to the mall, traipse into Sam Goody, and spend $1 to $2 of my hard earned birthday money on a CD single.  Then I’d take it home, pop it into my CD player and play it over and over again until I learned all the words.

So you see, purchasing CD singles really isn’t humorous at all.  It’s quite practical.  I’ll tell you what’s funny though, the actual songs that I purchased.  I thought long and hard (haha) about some of my favorite CD singles and I will share them with you.  I think that it’s obvious from my song selection that I relied a little too heavily on VH1 to provide direction on what was hot in the music scene.  If only I watched more MTV, perhaps more Naughty by Nature or Arrested Development would be included in the list below.

Tina Arena- Chains

What?  You’ve never heard of Tina Arena?  I don’t believe it.  But doesn’t this sound like a song that an angst-ridden 13-year-old would love?  I know that I did.  I’m sure at 13, I had so much in common with Ms. Arena’s plight.

Tracy Chapman- Give Me One Reason

I was always confused by the gender of Tracy Chapman when I was younger and I kinda still am.  With a name like Tracy, it can go either way.  I had so many crushes as a young teenager; this song really resonated with me.  Specifically the “Baby I got your number and I know that you got mine, But you know that I called you, I called too many times, You can call me baby, you can call me anytime, But you got to call me” lyrics.

Chumbawamba- Tubthumping

This song is still awesome.  No explanation needed.  A little reminiscing though, I remember hearing this song for the first time on the radio as my best friend’s dad drove us home from shopping at Goodwill for Halloween costumes.  Costumes that year:  Spice Girls.  We won best group at the high school Halloween dance.

Brandy and Monica- The Boy is Mine

I loved this song back then and I love it now.  It’s so relevant, too.  This song still plays in my head anytime a female talks to my husband.  I love that Brandy is watching Jerry Springer at the beginning of the video and that she seems excited about it.  If you were the “boy,” who would you choose?  Brandy or Monica?

Feel free to share your CD single experiences.  I may share more in the future, get excited.

5 Responses to “Singled Out”

  1. Laura October 7, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    I can do you a few better – I can actually remember when there were singles on cassette tapes, and I still have quite a number of vinyl singles in a trunk somewhere although I have nothing left to play them on!

    We used to call CD Singles “CDingles” when they first came out. And yes, the “B” sides to the aforementioned cassette tapes and vinyl records all usually had obscure songs that were hard to find elsewhere, but were never-the-less fabulous in their own right!

  2. Mrs Zack Morris October 7, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    LOL I love that a possibly related post listed is “Top 10 Reasons Why I Dislike Breastfeeding”

    Anyone else getting this?

  3. Jeannette October 13, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    First of all – I loved the show Singled Out even though I wasn’t supposed to watch it
    Second of all- I owned 3/4 of these songs
    Third – I was ALSO confused/am confused about Tracy Chapman! LOVE the song Fast Car – isn’t that the name of it?
    I’m pretty sure the last two songs were a staple at middle school talent shows when I was younger.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friendly Five « 141characters - October 14, 2009

    […] always loved John Legend and his soulful vibes.  I own all of his albums, no time for CD singles here.  However, I only most recently added him to my five after seeing him live in concert… […]

  2. Singled Out- Side B « 141characters - October 15, 2009

    […] 15, 2009 · Leave a Comment Speaking of Jordan Knight, shortly after I posted Singled Out last week, I realized that I had so many more CD single adventures to share.  And that brings us […]

Leave a Reply

