Hawt DOG!

3 Nov

So this news is a week late–my bad.  But in my defense, when I read about this last week I had already committed myself to writing a timely entry about Halloween.  Nevertheless, here’s a piece of news that I need to share with you.  Last week during Week 7 of the NFL season, Mark Sanchez, quarterback for the New York Jets, was seen snacking on a hot dog during a game against the Oakland Raiders when the Jets were beating the Raiders 38 to 0.  Yes, it’s true, take a look:

Realizing how bad this looked to the public and to those poor, little Raiders, Sanchez apologized immediately following the game. He explained how he had been sick all week and not able to eat much, hence, the mid-quarter snack.  Listen, I don’t fault this guy at all.  Hot dogs are delicious and they are an awesome snack at a ball game.  Mustard is one of my favorite condiments, too.  I don’t know much about Mark Sanchez but he seems like an OK guy.  No one told him to apologize, but he did.  And he’s clearly not as much of a douche bag as his USC predecessor, Matt Leinart. And he doesn’t obsess over hot dogs as much as another former USC quarterback, Carson Palmer. But there is one thing that I have to get on Mark Sanchez’s case for and this, my cyber-friends, is the article that I came across last week.

In hopes of keeping his image even cleaner, Sanchez donated 1,000 hot dogs, hamburgers, and buns to a New Jersey soup kitchen.  Whoa!  Careful not to break the bank, Sanchez!  As the article points out, that random act of kindness is likely to set Sanchez back close to $750, a meaningless little deduction from his guaranteed $28 million contract.  Still a generous thing to do and all, but c’mon.  That’s all you could donate?  How many hours can that little donation even sustain a soup kitchen?  And you couldn’t donate anything healthier?   More importantly, did you even think to donate condiments?  (Some chili, slaw, onions and mustard, perhaps, to West Virginia up their hot dogs?)

You, Mr. Sanchez, can learn a thing or two from my favorite back-up quarterback and yours, Charlie Batch.  Charlie Batch doesn’t make one and done donations to soup kitchens; no, he donates endless amounts of time and money to a variety of charitable endeavors in the Pittsburgh area and even has developed his own foundation.  Charlie Batch was injured and confined to the sidelines all last season and he didn’t eat any hot dogs.  He showed up in his sweats each and every week to cheer on his team.  Yes, we all could learn something from Charlie Batch.  Be good… and adorable.

Hawt Dog!

4 Responses to “Hawt DOG!”

  1. Kerri November 3, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    The Hot Dog song is SO CATCHY. Gah! I am living with a family right now that includes a two-year-old, and I secretly like this show (well, I guess not-so-secretly now…), especially the hot dog song and all the different hot dog dances!

    • 141characters November 5, 2009 at 11:24 am #

      We have so much in common, Kerri, David Sedaris… Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. LOL. Thanks for reading!

  2. Fode November 9, 2009 at 12:52 am #

    I also appreciate the song…. no surprise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shenanigans! « 141characters - January 5, 2010

    […] had to call shenanigans a couple times before on 141characters (here and here).  Honestly, I feel that it’s my duty.  Well, even though I already posted today, I just […]

Leave a Reply

