Rewind

5 Nov

[picapp src=”0191/0105445e-5767-485b-9339-fe91cf011872.jpg?adImageId=7129158&imageId=194776″ width=”380″ height=”130″ /]

 

I read the gossip blog Perez Hilton numerous times each day.  I can’t say that I enjoy most of it.  While I love the entertainment news and celebrity gossip, Perez is obnoxious and I often disagree with his sentiments.  He’s obsessed with Lady Gaga, he writes too much about fake celebrities like Katie Price and the Kardashians, and he’s obviously pro-Kate in this whole Jon and Kate Plus 8 fiasco (um, they are both despicable people, no need to choose sides).  But I’ve never disagreed with him more than when I came across this post the other day.

A recap for those of you who don’t click on links (they aren’t viruses, old people).  Steve Guttenberg is pretty pumped that apparently there is another Three Men and a Baby movie in the works.  Perez isn’t enthused but I am!  I LOVED Three Men and a Baby and also loved the sequel Three Men and a Little Lady.  Perez posits that the movie should be sent straight to video. I disagree.  Forget New Moon!  When this movie comes out, I’ll pre-purchase my tickets and be the first in the theater.  I love Tom Selleck.  And my mom does, too, because of his mustache.

Perez did get me thinking though.  There are many other late 80s movies from my childhood that could use a sequel…

 

Adventures in Babysitting

Well, looky here.  Wikipedia informs me that apparently there is a sequel/remake in the making due in 2010.  But this one will star Raven of That’s So Raven-fame.  No, sorry, original cast members, please.  I mean, really, what has Elizabeth Shue done lately?  I know that she’s in her 40s but she could still babysit, right?  Think about it Touchstone.  OH!  I do have one suitable replacement for an original cast member.  Remember the guy who played Thor?  Replace him with The Rock.

 

Big

Playing with toys at work, living in the city with a trampoline, and dancing on a piano, who didn’t love this movie?   I’m sick of Tom Hanks doing those boring Dan Brown movies, do something fun again, like Bigger.  If you ask me, it looks like Tom Hanks has already begun preparing for his role in Bigger, zing!

 

Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

Yeah, I know that they made Big Top Pee Wee but I didn’t like it as much as Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.  Big Top was missing fantastic contraptions like this.  And there was no Large Marge or dancing on the bar to Tequila either.  LAME.  Hollywood, make a suitable sequel, por favor.  Yeah, I’d love to see Pee Wee again in the theater, well as long as Paul Reubens isn’t there.

 

Cocktail

I’d love to see them remake Cocktail.  No, not a sequel.  Just remake it.  I used to love this movie and then Tom Cruise went crazy and ruined it for me.  Honestly, I can’t even watch it and enjoy it anymore without picturing Tom jumping on a couch or forcing his child bride to marry him.  This time, they should remake it with Ryan Reynolds.  Or The Rock.

 

Steel Magnolias

This movie gets me every time.  I don’t think there is a woman out there who doesn’t love this movie.  Unless you’re a heartless witch.  I’d love to see a sequel.  I know that all of the actresses are still big names so it may be tough to get them all involved in another film.  I bet that Julia Roberts would still want to be involved.  They could bring back her character you know, that do it in the soaps.  That or she could portray “Zombie Shelby.”

 

Uncle Buck

Sigh.  Thanks a lot, John Candy.  Way to go ahead and die and make this dream impossible.  I don’t think that there is a suitable replacement and definitely not someone who can go around with a principal like this.  Well, maybe The Rock could do it.

 

5 Responses to “Rewind”

  1. mrs zack morris November 5, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

    Who wouldn’t love to see Clifford remade? Sorry I couldn’t come up with any 80s movies, but I was pretty much unaware of movies in that decade. And like Elizabeth Shue, I think Martin Short needs a good ol’ movie role to jump-start his comeback.

    http://video.google.com/videosearch?sourceid=navclient&rlz=1T4DKUS_enUS315US311&q=clifford&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wv#sourceid=navclient&rlz=1T4DKUS_enUS315US311&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wv&q=clifford+martin+short&src=2
    GENIUS. (Unfortunately, I can’t comment with hyperlinks…fail.)

  2. sumshel November 5, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    RIP John Candy. Uncle Buck was the best!

  3. Sarah November 5, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

    I personally would like to know where the Goonies are now. I like to think that they used all their gold to become professional treasure hunters and travel around getting into money-making trouble across the globe.

    • 141characters November 5, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

      Excellent suggestion, Sarah! How did I forget to include the Goonies? I think that your imagination is right on though.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Love/Hate: The 80s « 141characters - November 20, 2009

    […] The movies. If you’ve read my post Rewind then you know all about my affection for 80s movies.  There were so many cinematic gems, no, […]

Leave a Reply

