Mondoo’s Mailbag

19 Nov

My husband reads all sorts of blogs on a daily basis, but one blog in particular, he often encourages me to read; more specifically, he encourages me to read this blog’s weekly “mailbag” post.  The many readers of this particular blog submit questions, comments, etc. and then weekly, the blogger regales them with his witty insights and musings.  Since imitation is the highest form of flattery, I want to down-right copy this man’s idea and institute my own recurring mailbag post.  His mailbag posts are hilarious so I figure that mine will be even more amusing.

That’s where you, 141characters loyal readers—all five of you, come in.  I need you to submit your questions, topic ideas, and so on.  You can do this in one of two ways: 1) Post a comment on Mondoo’s Mailbag posts and I will reply in a subsequent post, or 2) Should you wish to remain anonymous, simply send an email to 141characters@gmail.com with Mondoo’s Mailbag as the subject line and include your alias.

What kinds of questions can you ask or which kinds of topics can you propose?  Anything, that’s the beauty of this idea! Do you want my opinion on a specific topic that I have not yet covered in my daily posts?  Do you need some guidance with a dilemma plaguing your life?  Maybe you need some gift giving advice for the upcoming holiday season; whatever the case, mail it in!  But keep in mind, this mailbag idea will completely bomb unless you play along, so get going!  Until I receive some inquires, I will address some fake ones that I just made up:

Mondoo, why are your posts so hate-filled?

Honestly, I’m really not a hateful person.  In fact, I’m quite happy with my life and everything in it but I do get aggravated by a lot of things and rather than take them all out on my husband, I project a lot of my hate into the blog.  But here’s the thing, my hate-filled rants are much more enjoyable for you to read.  Trust me, posts about how awesome my life is are not funny.  I’ve tried.  How do you make that funny?  It’s nearly impossible.  So, just go with it, don’t take it too seriously and laugh along with me.  Because I’m funny.

What is your favorite ice cream flavor, Mondoo?

Trick question.  I love all flavors of ice cream, but some of my favorites are butter pecan, black raspberry, chocolate marshmallow, Chocolate Better Batter, rocky road, and seasonally, Valley Dairy’s Pumpkin.

Mondoo, you seem to hate a lot of things, mainly celebrities.  Which celebrity do you hate the most?

Good question.  Tough question actually.  I think that I’d have to say that this week, it’s a tie between Spencer Pratt and Carrie Prejean.  Spencer Pratt is famous for nothing except being a horrible real-life villain.  What kind of a man picks a fight with Al Roker via his Twitter account?  A pansy loser who has no real talents except to run his mouth and ride out his 15 minutes much longer than anyone wants, that’s who.  Speaking of people riding out their 15 minutes, Carrie Prejean is using her last minute to make the rounds on talk shows and be unnecessarily defensive.  Honey, you need to chill out and get off your high horse.  Someone needs to teach you how to discuss your opinions in a calm and rational manner.  Carrie, you’re inappropriate.

Mondoo, you really seem to hate a lot of things except for ice cream.  Are there any ice cream flavors that you hate?

Banana.  I don’t understand how ice cream makers can make some ice cream flavors so spot on (like oatmeal cookie and red velvet cake for instance) and then be so off when it comes to simple flavors like banana.  Same thing with banana popsicles.  They don’t taste like banana.  They taste like those little banana-shaped Runt candies.  If pressed, I do hate some other ice cream flavors, mainly any flavor that tastes like candy—Red Hot, cotton candy, bubblegum.  Candy is candy and ice cream is ice cream, no need to mix flavors.

Stay tuned for next week’s edition of Mondoo’s Mailbag where I hope to answer some real questions!  *Note:  all inquiries do not have to revolve around my hate.*

8 Responses to “Mondoo’s Mailbag”

  1. Kerri November 19, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Mailbag = awesome. I will think of some good stuff!

    In other news, and maybe you could finagle another hate-filled (read: hilarious) post out of this. I saw this notepad (https://edgecastcdn.net/800034/www.perpetualkid.com/productimages/lg/NOTE-2059a.gif) at Pier 1 yesterday, and thought of you. I feel like driving with the windows up and fussing at other drivers is another appropriate outlet for being sort of hateful. What are your driving habits in that area, Mondoo? What is your favorite thing to yell about/what action of other drivers pisses you off the most?

  2. mrs zack morris November 19, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Mondoo –
    What kind of bear is best? What’s that? It’s a ridiculous question?
    Fine…then what is your favorite “The Office” prank and why?

  3. ganky November 19, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    Why do we have to be so “politically correct” in all our lives???? Why can’t we laugh and make fun of the person falling down the steps, picking their butt,and those darn lycra pants that every obese woman insists on wearing to WalMart? Guess what–they’re clumsy/ rude/ and obese. Oh, I can list tons more but it wouldn’t be politically correct!!!!!!!

  4. summer November 19, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    you should try the cotton candy at tcby. it’s actually good

  5. Kristina November 19, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    Mailbag:
    Mondoo,
    You have a plenty of higher education knowledge and in an effort to help you exercise that knowledge (I wish I had a way to do that), I ask that you identify some problems you feel exist and explain how “Mondoo” could make it all run more smoothly!

  6. Beefer November 20, 2009 at 9:07 am #

    You say you hate a lot of things. But you also say that you love your husband. Is there anything you hate about him? Like how handsome he is?

    Also, what happened to Vitamin G? Is she dead? Should I send a sympathy card?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mondoo’s Mailbag « 141characters - January 7, 2010

    […] ice cream?  Please see this post.  And, furthermore, my favorites change by day.  Right now, I could totally go for some chocolate […]

  2. Baby Brain « 141characters - April 12, 2010

    […] Submit a question to Mondoo’s Mailbag.  Leave a question in the comments of a mailbag post or email me at […]

Leave a Reply

