Mondoo’s Mailbag

29 Dec

I trust that you all had a fantastic holiday.  I, in typical Mondoo fashion, both loved and hated it, but more on that this Friday.  I felt like taking some questions from Mondoo’s Mailbag today, mainly because I’m plum out of post ideas.  And soon, I’ll be out of mailbag questions as well.  Guilt only worked on Kerri, what will persuade the rest of you to write in?  I’m not begging, so tough.  But as a kindly reminder, if you have a question for Mondoo, please leave it in the comments or email 141characters@gmail.com.

First a few questions from my most loyal reader, Kerri:

What’s your favorite feature of the grocery store you frequent? There are different chains here in Florida, and Publix has awesome iced tea flavors, as well as cute, seasonal, reusable bags.

Aside from the pirate-cleaning Foodland down the street, the Mondoos frequent the nice Kroger about 20 minutes from our home.  We bypass the somewhat scary Kroger about 15 minutes away, for obvious reasons; it’s scary.  My favorite features about this Kroger are the expansive olive bar which includes a plethora of olives, of course, sun-dried tomatoes, hummus, pickled peppers, baba ganoush, and tabouli) and the sushi bar (although I haven’t tried it, it’s nice to know that the grocery store has sushi when you’re in a pinch).  The Mondoos are also a big fan of buying generic because it’s a great way to save money.  There are some things though that we must buy name brand (there’s nothing like Heinz Ketchup!) but, all in all, Kroger’s Private Selection items are pretty fabulous.

How do you feel about real, actual mail? I love sending letters (and receiving letters), but people think this is weird and old-fashioned.

As I alluded to in Love/Hate:  Christmas Cards, I love real mail!  I always try my best to send cards and thank you notes because in the world of Facebook and email, we rarely ever get anything in hard copy form.  I love the green movement and recycling as much as the next person but an email, e-card, etc. can never replace the awesomeness of opening your mailbox and finding something addressed to you that isn’t a bill.

Similarly, I’m not a big fan of this whole “read a book on your iPhone” craze that’s happening lately.  Even Amazon has the Kindle out now.  I can’t think of anything more uncomfortable than reading an entire book on my cell phone.  There’s something about sitting down with a book, a blanket, and a cup of tea that is so enjoyable.  Granted, I haven’t done that in a while because I’ve read all the books on my bookshelf and can’t bring myself to read them over.  (Side note:  if anyone has any book suggestions, please let me know.  Please do not suggest Twilight, Harry Potter, or any variation of the aforementioned.  I’m not into fantasy.  Or Amish romance novels.  But if I was, I know who I could borrow them from.  Wink, wink, you know who you are!)

Next question/comment/follow-up to a question from last week. Do you like word games? Have you heard of/played Bananagrams?

Kerri, I do love word games!  I used to love word searches when I was younger; I even used to create my own and then make my dad search for the words (NERD ALERT!).  Do they make word searches for adults?   I love crossword puzzles and Scattergories but I fear that I’m not very good at them.  My husband kicks butt at Scattergories and I hate to play any game with him that doesn’t even allow me to compete.  He has all these Scattergories tricks like using answers like Hubert H. Humphrey, Birmingham Black Barons, Walla Walla, Washington, and great green gobs of greasy grimy gopher guts.  If that’s not cheating, I don’t know what is.

I have not heard of Bananagrams.  Enlighten me!

Our next (and last) question comes from boyswillbboys:

Mondoo, where are your readers concentrated? How many other fantastic readers do you have besides me? What do your reader stats look like?

Dear boys:  Unfortunately, WordPress.com doesn’t track views based upon location.  That’s kind of weird, isn’t it?  I do have some stats on views, referrers, top posts, clicks and searches.  Here are some interesting tidbits:

The top five searches that lead people to our blog include the following:  1) The Rock, 2) funnel cake, 3) Mike Tomlin, 4) donuts, and 5) handsome.  I don’t know what those terms say about our posts or our readers.

Our top five posts of all time include the following:  Love/Hate: Christmas Decorations (2,105 views), Almost Hungry, West Virginia (1,762 views), Festival Foods- Not Fair, FABULOUS! (934 views), Love/Hate: Football (368 views), and Friendly Five (323 views).

We average 107 readers a day and our busiest day was back in October with 1,831views.  Our busiest days, by far, are when we’re featured on WordPress’s “Freshly Pressed.”  They should feature us more, we’re hilarious.

That’s it for the mailbag this week!  And remember, if you have a mailbag question, leave it in the comments or email 141characters@gmail.com!

6 Responses to “Mondoo’s Mailbag”

  1. mrs zack morris December 29, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    So, who is your favorite celebrity’s baby (toddler) as far as being adorable goes?
    As a follow up, who is your least favorite celebrity’s baby (toddler)? Mine is Suri Cruise because her parents are bat shit crazy and her stupid high heels and her never wearing a coat habit and phew, that’s about it.

  2. Beefer December 29, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    There are so many upsetting things in this blog post that I cannot even wait to get home to discuss them.

    1) “. . .I’ve read all the books on my bookshelf . . .” There is a copy of Secretariat that you asked for about 5 years ago that begs to differ.

    2) Way to give away all of my good Scattergories answers, some that I haven’t even had a chance to use yet. Our biggest challenger is the co-author of this blog. She already tries to cheat every time we play! Now, you’re giving away answers for free!

    3) So you talk all about things you like about Kroger without mentioning the thing that saves us the most money–even if it does involve me standing in the store for an extra five minutes examining about-to-expire packages of chicken wings. Does the phrase “manager’s special meats” ring a bell? I don’t even know who you are anymore.

    • 141characters December 29, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

      1) The book is Seabiscuit.
      2) All part of my plan to bring you down, Beefer! Someone’s got to level the playing field when it comes to Scattergories.
      3) Touche.

      • Beefer December 29, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

        I also have book about Secretariat if you are bored, though.

      • 141characters December 29, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

        I totally figured out your secret 8 word ‘G’ answer months ago. That’s right, I’m onto you Beefer.

  3. Kerri December 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    Email me your address, I need to send you something!

    Banagrams is like Scrabble on crack. It’s pretty awesome.

    Books you should check out: London is the Best City in America (everyone I loan this to thinks it’s dumb but I love it!); The Secret Life of Bees; Juno & Juliet; basically any book in the “book” section on my Facebook…

    Onto questions for next week:

    1) Favorite quirky vacation spot? We are visiting family and going to Hershey Chocolate World today. I have been before but am really excited about it!

    2) Favorite ice cream flavor?

    3) Did you go on any road trips when you were growing up? What sort of things did you do to occupy yourselves in the car?

Leave a Reply

