Love/Hate: Facebook

15 Jan

Some recent annoyances on Facebook have made me reconsider if Facebook is something worth investing my time in.  As it turns out, there are actually things that I love about it so I guess my account is safe from deactivation… for now.  Don’t get me wrong, there are still plenty of things that I hate about it, too.

Love:

1)  Keeping up with people. I’ve already disclosed many times on this blog that I’m not the best with keeping in contact with people.  Mainly because I would much rather catch up in person than on the phone.  But when you’ve lived in five different states, six different towns, worked with many college students, met people through work and traveling, etc., Facebook is an excellent way to keep in contact with, not only close friends but acquaintances as well.  It’s also an excellent way to reconnect with the nice people from your past.  Screw the mean ones though.  I’m not Facebook friends with them.

2)  Facebook stalking. Sometimes my keeping up with people involves Facebook stalking them.  I’m not embarrassed.  We all do it and if you don’t admit that you do it, you’re a dirty liar.  And since Facebook has now cleared their networks, you can even view the profiles of people who you are not friends with, unless of course you’re savvy with your Privacy Settings as I am.  The only people that can see my profile and its various entities are my friends.  I don’t need randoms looking into my life.  A cautionary tale:  Some of my friends wonder why I don’t post pictures (other than my profile pictures) on my Facebook.  Well, back in the day when people had AIM instead of Facebook, I used to post links to my photos all the time.  Until one day when some woman who I’ve never met told my mom that it looked like my husband and I cooked some very nice meals.  Huh?  Apparently her creeper daughter, who wasn’t even my friend on AIM, knew my screenname, searched for it and viewed my profile leading her to pictures I recently posted of our new life as a married couple.  We were once very proud of our limited cooking skills (now we’re awesome at cooking!) and took a few pictures of our first real dinner in our new place.  And now this creepy woman was talking about our meal to my mother in the grocery store.  I stopped posting pictures the second that I heard that story.  I like keeping up with friends but not creepers.  I guess that I don’t mind creeping myself though  but I’m certainly not going to mention it to you in the grocery store!

3)  The Hide function. Facebook applications such as, but not limited to, Farmville, Mafia Wars, Sorority Life, and “Enter to Win a (fill in the blank)” have forced me to utilize the Hide function on Facebook and let me tell you, thank God for that!  I don’t know how people have the time or interest in these applications (more on that in Hate #3) but I don’t have time for their updates on my news feed.  Thankfully Facebook developed the Hide function and now when a Facebook friend of mine gets too annoying, BAM!  Hidden!  Sometimes I’m in a bad mood and get so annoyed that they get unfriended.  This has only happened a couple of times but, trust me, it was warranted.

4)  Keeps me entertained. Have I mentioned that I’m an unemployed housewife?  Yeah, well some days, I’m kinda bored.  There’s only so much TV to watch or errands to run.  So yes, Facebook keeps me company and quite entertained.  I read people’s status updates (unless I’ve hidden them), look at their pictures, and investigate the links that they post.  And since I no longer work with college students, Facebook is one outlet that keeps me updated on the latest pop culture buzz.  Thanks Facebook!

5)  When people comment. I don’t post any photos but I do post status updates and occasionally some links and nothing pleases me more than when people comment on my Facebook activity.  It must be in my personality to appreciate the feedback or validity on my thoughts.  I also love when people comment on my blog posts so comment away!

Hate:

1)  Status forwards. Forwards are annoying when they show up in your email and even more annoying when they show up on Facebook.  I can’t even count how many times I received the following message in my Facebook Inbox last week:

“Some fun is going on…. just write the color of your bra in your status. Just the color, nothing else. And send this on to ONLY girls, no men …. It will be neat to see if this will spread the wings of cancer awareness. It will be fun to see how long it takes before the men will wonder why all the girls have a color in their status.”

A nice gesture, I suppose, and no offense to anyone who sent it or chose to post a color, but how does simply posting your bra color in your status create awareness for breast cancer?  Half of the Facebook population (men) didn’t even know what was going on.  In a world where a woman is diagnosed with breast cancer every three minutes, I think that we’re all painfully aware of breast cancer (in that one sentence, I created more awareness about breast cancer than I could’ve by posting “purple” in my status).  How about actually doing something about it?  Try donating money, time, or kindness to those dealing with breast cancer.  And stop posting these kinds of things in your status and even more so, quit sending them to me.

2)  Quotes/music lyrics in one’s status. I’m sure that there are people out there who think that my status updates are stupid but to me there is no dumber status update than a lame and ambiguous quote, especially those from music lyrics.  Quoting some lame lyrist or whiney rock artist does not make me think of you as intelligent or contemplative.  It only gets you one step closer to the Hide function.  I do, however, approve of people quoting from 141characters, so go right ahead with that!

3)  Applications. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.  Ugh, Facebook applications!  Who has the time to cultivate a fake farm on their Facebook?  And what purpose does it serve?  Do you receive a prize when your farm reaches ultimate Farmville-ness?  And from what I’ve read on some exasperated statuses, if you don’t spend eons of time on your farm, it dies and then you lose or lose your mind or something like that.  Facebook friends, do yourself (and your Facebook friends who receive countless requests from you about chicken coops) a favor and delete your farm.  Pick up a real hobby, maybe like actual farming, I dunno.

4)  Creepers. I’m very careful about whose friend requests I will actually confirm.  My main requirement is that we have had to talk to each other at least once in person and that encounter has to have been somewhat enjoyable so much so that I’d want to actually talk to you again.  From time to time, I have these creepers request my Facebook friendship.  I’ve never met these people and we have no mutual friends.  Then why would I be your Facebook friend, weirdo?!

5)  Just press play.

Leave a Reply

