Where Do I Apply?

21 Jan

Last night the Capital City hosted the Capital Classic between West Virginia University and Marshall University.  I did not attend the game but I did attend a pre-game reception hosted by Mr. Mondoo’s employer.  And let me just say, it was about time that I be invited to a fun and free reception with an open bar (not that I can currently partake but still) and endless tables of hors d’oeuvres.  Before my husband started his employment, all I kept hearing about were these awesome events with free food, free tickets to this and that, and I couldn’t wait!  I love free events where I can get dressed up and look pretty on Mr. Mondoo’s arm.  But then the economy went in the shitter.  No more retreats to swanky resorts.  No more free tickets to shows.  No more fancy office parties.  I guess I should be thankful that my husband’s employer is fiscally responsible and he still has a job, but fiscal responsibility doesn’t buy me anything or take me anywhere.  Phooey!

But I digress.  We didn’t have tickets to the game so after we had our fill of free jumbo shrimp, jalapeno poppers, the mashed potato bar, and chocolate fondue and then headed home to watch the game from the comfort of our reclining sofa.  During the game, we were treated to the following commercial for Marshall University and it was just so fantastic that I had to share it with all five of our regular 141characters readers.

A rec center?!  Where do I apply?!  Do they have courses in how to play the ukulele?  I mean, I guess I’ll trust you on the “never a dull moment” thing, but really, you’re located in Huntington, WV, the unhealthiest city in the nation. Aside from eating, I could use some examples on what there is to actually do.  There are many more ukulele commercials where that came from, check them out here.

As awful as that commercial was, I knew there had to be even worse college promotional videos out there, I was right, as I frequently am.

Dear Marymount Manhattan College:  Could you pick a set of dumpier college students to appear in your commercial?  And did you film this commercial on your VHS recorder?  I’m surprised they even still make those.

This video kinda makes you wonder how Appalachian State still has students paying tuition.  I dunno about you but the second I saw this commercial, I would’ve transferred out of this place so fast; otherwise you’re doomed to a life of people reading your resume and singing “Appalachian is HOT HOT HOT!”

Honestly, who were the PR geniuses that came up with this ad campaigns?  No, really, who are they?  What firm do they work with?  Because if they can produce crap like this and still be employed, I need to jump on that gravy train and ride it on out of Unemployment Town.

7 Responses to “Where Do I Apply?”

  1. JLee January 21, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    As a former college admission counselor and ambassador who has worked on and with a few branding projects, these are just horrible. They just cannot even be real! If they are, I hope the responsible staff have moved onto other things!
    It is feasible that these were used because I have seen some pretty bad brands out there. (Yes, I too make judgments about these things!)

    Love the blog, mondoo! Keep up the great work!

    • 141characters January 21, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      While I cannot confirm the validity of the Marymount Manhattan College promo, the App State promo is in fact for real, check it out here and I witnessed the Marshall promo on TV with my very own eyes! Haha.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment, JLee!
      -M

  2. JLee January 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    Okay, I need to update my comments. I forgot to mention in my first note that I was not able to see the Marshall commercial. Now, I have watched it. Wow…I feel so inspired…or not. Really, the rec center part seems like a bad edit and totally out of place. Really, a rec center?!?! Who doesn’t have a rec center?! Not sure if this is the best use of marketing funds!

  3. summer January 22, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    wow

  4. Jim January 25, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    I want to address the comment on the Marymount Manhattan College video. This was an amateur video that was not an official promotional piece produced by the College. As you know, You Tube hosts any and all videos that may not be approved. We have no control over who may post things with our name. I do want to share with you a link to our official You Tube site that only the Admissions Department can post to: http://www.youtube.com/user/NYCMarymount#p/u
    OR on our official Web site:
    http://www.mmm.edu/become/videos/socialnetworking.html

    Please take a look as I know you will see a drastic difference in quality.

    • mondoo January 25, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks for the clarification, Jim, you’re a great ambassador for your institution, unlike the amateur video produced. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stay out of it, Nick Lachey « 141characters - March 25, 2010

    […] on Lenten activities, advice on festival foods, advice on dressing for special occasions, advice on college promotional videos, the list goes […]

Leave a Reply

