Love/Hate: Being a Housewife

29 Jan

Since moving to West Virginia, I have been successful at procuring one job:  housewife.  I’m damn good at it, just ask Mr. Mondoo.  But that doesn’t necessarily mean that I love it.  I do sometimes and other times, I hate it.

Love:

1)  The Free Time. “I wish that I had the time to do that!”  This was a phrase that frequently popped into my lexicon during graduate school and my brief time in the working world.  I dreamed of a day when I would have time to spend with my hobbies, learn to garden, read, get involved with the community, bake a pie from scratch, start a blog, watch the entire Beverly Hills 90210 series from start to finish, etc.  I love having the free time to do whatever I want.  Sometimes (most times) this means sitting in my PJs until at least noon trying to think of witty things to write on141characters.

2)  TV. Oh how I love TV!  I don’t care.  Judge me, world!  Being a housewife has allowed me to truly commit myself to my second love:  TV.  I’ve rediscovered the awesomeness of The Golden Girls and Lifetime Movies (The Pregnancy Pact was quite good, check it out on reruns).

3)  Cooking Dinner. When I worked and Mr. Mondoo was in school, cooking (and eventually eating) dinner was our special time to spend together.  After dinner, he’d go off to study and I’d go off to evening work commitments.  We both learned to love to cook and also learned to work really well together in the kitchen, except for when Mr. Mondoo would try to steal my dinner tasks and mask it as “helping me.”  Well, I didn’t need his help!  I like to do things on my own.  Nothing bothers me more than when I’m doing something in the kitchen and someone gives me unwanted and unasked help.  I’ve had people take bowls out of my hand before and hijack my mixing (yes, you, Ganky!).  None too pleased.  And now that Mr. Mondoo gets home so late, I get to cook dinner ALL ON MY OWN!  I love it!  I get to do all the chopping, stirring, sautéing myself.  AND I get all the credit.  Bonus!

4)  Baby cuddles. Ok, this is a huge assumption on my part but once the baby gets here, I have a feeling that Mr. Mondoo and I are going to “fight” over who gets to hold and cuddle her.  Well, I’ll be home with her all day Monday through Friday so I win.  And my prize?  Baby cuddles.  From time to time, I hear from the following from mothers:  “Oh you just wait.  You’ll be ready to pass that baby along to your husband once he gets home from work.”  I suppose this may be true but I have a hard time believing people sometimes.  People told Mr. Mondoo and me that our sweetness to each other would wear off soon.  And that was ten years ago.  We’re still waiting.  I think there may just be a lot of Debbie Downers out there who maybe don’t appreciate love and family like I do.  I reserve my judgment for celebrities and as-seen-on-TV products.

Hate:

1)  Housework. Apparently just because I’m home all day with all of this time on my hands, I’m responsible for all the housework like washing dishes, cleaning the entire house, the laundry, dusting, and ugh, cleaning the bathroom.  I.  Hate.  It.

2)  Ironing. Ironing stands alone in my list of hates because I don’t consider ironing a form of housework; ironing is s form of torture.  In my experience, ironing is the only chore that accompanies a huge risk of injury (seriously, I burn my hands or fingers every week while ironing).   And takes all day long when your husband insists on working in a white-collar job that produces an endless pile of dress shirts and dress pants!  I also had to do the ironing when I was employed and I also hated it.  Mr. Mondoo and I made a deal that when he started working and would have even more clothes to be ironed, that we could send his shirts out to get pressed.  I couldn’t have been more ecstatic about this deal!  Well not being able to find a job screwed that one up!  Not only do I have the time to iron, but we don’t have the extra money to send the shirts out for pressing.  Damn you, unemployment!  You ruin everything!

3)  It’s BORING. Once all the blogging, baking, and hobbying are done, things get really boring.  I’m sure this will change after Baby gets here.  I’ll probably long for the days where I can sit down for a minute and watch “Days of Our Lives” and actually have time to work out.  But, for now, it’s really boring most of the time!  Mr. Mondoo works and I guess I’ve made some friends since I’ve moved here, but they work during the day as well leaving me all alone with the housework.  What is a lonely little housewife to do all day once the housework is complete and all of the hobbies are attended to?   And don’t tell me to make friends with my neighbors.  They are either old, nosey, or allow their dogs to run amuck in the neighborhood.  I don’t want to talk to them.

4)  I never get to dress up and look pretty. You know, unless I have a doctor’s appointment or I’m meeting someone for lunch or something.  Otherwise, what’s the point of putting on make-up and pretty clothes if you’re just going to iron and watch TV all day?  This is why I love Fridays.  Fridays are date night and I get to do my hair, make-up, and pick out cute clothes and Mr. Mondoo takes me out on the town.

Stay tuned until May when this Love/Hate list transforms into Love/Hate:  Being a Stay-at-Home Mom… although I anticipate many more loves than hates.

5 Responses to “Love/Hate: Being a Housewife”

  1. ganky January 29, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    after 27 yrs. of being “queen” of the kitchen, it’s hard to relinquish the throne!!! i’ll try to be better in the future.

    • mondoo January 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      Oh it’s ok, Ganky! This is why I try not to cook in your kitchen or we just cook when you’re not there 😉 Hehe.

  2. Daniel February 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Can you send to me the photo of radio raheem with the maximum possible resolution plz?
    like this but without the drawings

    • 141characters February 2, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      Daniel, you can find the Radio Raheem photo via Google Image Search, just as I did, just search Radio Raheem.

      • Daniel February 2, 2010 at 9:20 am #

        i only find it in small sizes :S

Leave a Reply

