Give It Up

16 Feb

Today is Fat Tuesday and if you’re in New Orleans that means that you’re already drunk.  If you’re not in New Orleans, it probably means that you’re at work (haha, not me, suckas!) but have plans to later in the day indulge in whatever you are planning on giving up for Lent this year.  Or maybe you’re not planning on giving up anything this year.  That’s OK… heathen.  Actually, I’m not giving up anything this year either.  I feel that there should be a special dispensation for pregnant ladies.  I mean, really.  How can I give up any of my favorite things while I’m pregnant?  You never know when a craving is going to strike, especially in the upcoming third trimester.  I’m already so hungry at all points during the day that I might actually even eat my baby if she were here.  No, no, I’m kidding.  But I might actually eat that plastic baby that’s precariously placed inside the King Cake.  Anyways, I used to give up my favorite things for Lent every year when I was younger.  Most times, it was pop and potato chips.  The best part about giving up something for Lent is that the Easter Bunny was so proud of me for giving up something that I loved that he brought me an entire Easter basket filled with various types of pop or my favorite chips back in the day (Does anyone remember O’Boisies?!  OMG, so good.  Apparently they are back on some shelves, according to the internets.  No doubt, a pregnancy craving project for Mr. Mondoo).  Later in life, instead of giving something up for Lent, I would instead do something nice for others.  Meh.  Like I said, I’m pregnant and truly, people should be doing nice things for me.  So, maybe I’ll just come up with things that other people should give up.  That’s kinda like helping people.  Mainly the general public.

– John Mayer:  Talking.

– Kevin Smith:  EatingOr flying Southwest.  Or Twittering.

– Heidi Montag-Pratt:  More plastic surgery.

– Brad Pitt:  His goatee.

– Jennifer Aniston:  Brad Pitt.

– All Facebook Users:  Participating in the “status/profile picture of the week” craze.  (I hate to break it to you but you don’t look like your celebrity look-a-like.  That craze was just an excuse to post a picture of someone much better looking than you).

– Mother Nature:  Snow.

You’re welcome.  Mondoo is here to help.

3 Responses to “Give It Up”

  1. Kristina February 16, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    This is the one thing I love about being raised Baptist…we don’t observe Lent (http://baptistparson.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/baptists-and-lent/).

    Who are the suckas now! haha!

    And p.s. I believe you’re giving up and sharing a lot during this Lenten Fast – hello – there’s something sucking away your all your nutrients even as your read this! (even though she’s adorable)

    • mondoo February 16, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      Technically, as a protestant, it was our choice to give up something… I always chose to give up something because 40 days later, I received it in abundance. Sneaky? Yes. I’m sure God does not approve.

      And yes, I’ve given up two of my favorite things (sushi and wine) for almost seven months now… I don’t need to give up any more! Haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stay out of it, Nick Lachey « 141characters - March 25, 2010

    […] that from my post yesterday.  Advice on NCAA brackets (again, I apologize for that), advice on Lenten activities, advice on festival foods, advice on dressing for special occasions, advice on college promotional […]

Leave a Reply

